Meloncholy

Last night was a happy and sad moment for myself and my newest group of friends. As most of us sat around the table at a nice little restaurant near the boardwalk and White Tower of our home, I was feeling so many things at once. The first strange feeling I noticed was a sense of adulthood. We seven young women felt like adults, grown up, drinking our wine, and reminiscing on our first impressions of each other. Sure, we are all between the ages of 19 and 21 which some consider to be adults (and others don’t), but for the first time in my life I felt significantly older than my age. We laughed, some cried, while we looked back on our three months together as they’re all about to leave for home. I cannot exactly describe how I feel knowing that all my close friends are moving back to their home states while I stay here and continue my journey. I guess melancholy will just have to suffice.

Leave a Reply

